Andhra Pradesh History

Andhra Pradesh is one of the country’s states that is proud of its rich historical and cultural history. A look at Andhra Pradesh’s history might provide insight into the state’s illustrious past. Andhra Pradesh’s brief history may be divided into four distinct periods. After centuries of being governed by several conquerors, Mahatma Gandhi established the basis for the Telugu people’s capital, Andhra Pradesh, which was then part of the Madras Presidency, during the war for India’s freedom. However, with the sacrifice of great leader Potti Sriramulu and the social reform efforts of Tanguturi Prakasam Pantulu and Kandukuri Veeresalingam, the Andhra area was ultimately liberated from the Madras Presidency and became the first linguistic state, with Kurnool as its capital.


Historians think the first inhabitants were Aryans. They moved to the south of Vindhyas and mingled with other races there. Andhra Pradesh, a large section of Emperor Ashoka’s dominion, was a prominent Buddhist centre at that period. The Buddhist culture and influence may still be seen in several sites around the state.

Earlier Period

The Satavahana dynasty is said to be the first to control Andhra Pradesh. During the period of the second century B.C., they were also known as the Andhras. Their capital was Amravati, which was located on the banks of the Krishna River. They supported domestic and international trade and were devout Buddhists. Following the Satavahana period, the empire was controlled by the Pallavas, Chalukyas, Cholas, and Kakaityas.

Muslim Expansion’s Period

In 1323, following the capture of their monarch by the Tughlak Sultan of Delhi, the Kakatiya dynasty was destroyed. Following the demise of the Kakatiya dynasty, a number of smaller kingdoms came to prominence around the empire. The Vijaynagar kingdom was the most powerful of them. That realm was home to the renowned ruler, Krishnadeva Raya. After repeatedly failing to defeat the Vijayanagar empire, the country was ultimately taken by Muslim invaders.

The Qutb Shahi dynasty rose to power in the state around the middle of the 16th century. The Mughals, specifically Aurangazeb’s son, defeated them. In 1707, Hyderabad became independent and came under the dominion of the Nizams. The Nizams were important British allies who assisted the Europeans in defeating Tipu Sultan of Mysore.

Post-Independence Periods

Andhra Pradesh was the first state to be constituted on the basis of language after India’s independence. Nine districts were in the Nizam’s Dominions, while the remainder were in the Madras Presidency for the Telugu-speaking population. However, after a popular uprising in 1953, around 11 districts of Madras State were annexed to establish a new Andhra State, with Kurnool as its capital. In 1956, the Nizam’s nine districts were combined to establish the expanded state of Andhra Pradesh. Hyderabad became the state’s capital, and it is now one of India’s most technologically sophisticated cities.